Barry Christmas Bin Changes and Festive Recycling Tips

  Posted: 16.12.19 at 09:13 by The Editor

us on Facebook



Barry residents and families across the Vale will benefit from a temporary lift on Black Bag Restrictions over the christmas period.

The Vale council has recognised that residents will produce a lot more waste and recycling this time of year so from Monday 23 December 2019 - Friday 10 January 2020 the restriction to 2 black bags per household will not apply.

The 2 black bags restriction will resume from Monday 13 January 2020.

Collection Day Changes:

Monday 23 December - No change
Tuesday 24 December - No change
Wednesday 25 December - Friday 27 December
Thursday 26 December - Saturday 28 December
Friday 27 December - Sunday 29 December
Monday 30 December - No change
Tuesday 31 December - No change
Wednesday 1 January 2020 - Thursday 2 January
Thursday 2 January - Friday 3 January
Friday 3 January - Saturday 4 January

Recycling your Christmas:

You can recycle these items - be sure to put them in the correct containers for separated recycling:
• Brown paper
• Chocolate boxes (cardboard)
• Chocolate boxes (plastic)
• Chocolate box trays (transparent)
• Foil trays (please clean)
• Turkey bones (food waste)
• Vegetable peelings (food waste)
• Christmas crackers
• Christmas cards (plain)
• Real christmas trees (see dates below)

Unfortunately, these items can't be recycled, please place them in your black bag waste:
• Wrapping paper - all types
• Wrapping decorations e.g. ribbons and bows
• Sellotape
• Christmas cards (metallic/glitter)
• Tissue paper
• Chocolate box trays (black plastic)
• Tinsel
• Broken decorations
• Fairy lights - can be taken to HWRC
• Plastic trees - can be taken to HWRC

Christmas Tree Recycling (Monday 13 January - Friday 17 January 2020):

The council will be collecting real Christmas Trees on your normal collection day the week commencing Monday 13 January 2020.

Simply place your tree out for collection alongside your recycling before 7.00am.

You can also place any cut off branches and loose pine needles in your garden waste bags and place at the kerbside for collection.

Collections will be taking place throughout the day and early evening by a dedicated vehicle on your normal collection day.

If you miss your collection day, Christmas trees can also be taken to both our Household Waste Recycling Centres.

South Wales Police are investigating a serious assault which has left a man in a critical condition in hospital. Officers were called to report of ...
Read more...


Share: